Will World Cup stars shine at The Best?

The Best FIFA Football Awards™

© Getty Images
  • Several players shone at Russia 2018
  • The Best shortlists will be announced next week
  • FIFA.com readers will be able to vote!

Several players stood out at what was a captivating 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia™ from beginning to end. Croatia captain Luka Modric was awarded the adidas Golden Ball as the tournament’s best player, while Belgium’s Eden Hazard and France’s Antoine Griezmann won the adidas Silver Ball and adidas Bronze Ball, respectively. England forward Harry Kane took home the adidas Golden Boot, finishing as top scorer with six goals, while Belgium goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois was awarded the adidas Golden Glove and France’s teenage sensation Kylian Mbappe won the FIFA Young Player Award.

FIFA.com takes a closer look at two players who played in the Final, who could be in with a chance to be winning more awards in London this September.

​Luka Modric

Key stats at Russia 2018
Matches played: 7
Minutes played: 694 (most of any player)
Distance covered: 72.3 (km)
Goals: 2
Assists: 1
Total passes: 523
Tackles: 11
Recovered balls: 31

One of Modric’s former team-mates Kaka, speaking with Omnisport courtesy of adidas, had this to say about Croatia’s captain: “Luka [Modric] shows us that it’s easy to play. Believe me, it’s really really hard to play football. To play the World Cup, it’s even harder. And he plays like it’s normal. It’s like a dance for him. And now he’s this amazing player at a high level – four [UEFA] Champions Leagues, a World Cup Final and being the captain of his team. So, it’s really nice and he deserves that because he’s a nice guy, always humble, so congratulations to Modric.”

You may also like:  Dempsey scores first goal of season, Sounders tie Fire, 1-1
© Getty Images

Kylian Mbappe

Key stats at Russia 2018
​Matches played: 7
Minutes played: 534
*Goals: 4
Attempts: 8
Attempts on target: 7

*Mbappe’s goal in the Final was the first scored by a teenager since Pele in 1958. He also became the fifth teenager to score multiple goals in a World Cup game and the third to appear in the Final.

When asked on what qualities make for The Best FIFA Men’s Player and how one can win the prestigious award, former World Cup winner with Germany, Lothar Matthaus, offered his views.

“The past winners [of The Best awards] have always been the players who’ve scored important goals. However, the team achievements must be there before the individual can be The Best.

“I believe that the best player comes from a team that wins titles. It’s important that the team wins and then you are in the spotlight. When you are in big moments like the World Cup, then you have a big chance to be The Best.”

© Getty Images

The question now is: do these achievements put these players in the frame to take home any of The Best FIFA Football Awards up for grabs in London on 24 September?

You may also like:  World's best descend on London

Another prize to be won at The Best is the FIFA Puskás Award, given to the player adjudged to have scored the best goal of the year. As the 2018 award will be given to goals scored during the period of 3 July 2017 to 15 July 2018 inclusive, some of the wonder goals scored in Russia may be in with a chance to win. Votes from FIFA.com users will determine the winner.

See also

Vote for the World Cup Goal of the Tournament presented by Hyundai

The awards are given to players based on performances during the period from 3 July 2017 to 15 July 2018. For more on the rules of allocation, visit this link.

The announcement of the nominees will be made next week ​on FIFA.com, so stay tuned and be ready to vote!

Share this News
Ads Blocker Detected!

We show Ads on Ajibotic.com to help fund its maintenance. Ad revenue is only Our Source Of Income. If you like our News Website  please support our efforts by allowing ads on our site.

Thank You!